WACUBO 2021 Schedule at a Glance

The 2021 Annual Conference Program is on its way! The program combines insightful sessions, compelling workshops, stimulating panel discussions, and incredible networking opportunities among fellow industry professionals. Share best practices, common knowledge, and fun new experiences.

CPE Credits 

CPE Credits: 1.2CPE credits are available throughout the WACUBO 2021 Virtual Annual Conference. Sessions eligible for CPE credits are indicated with the CPE Credit Eligible icon. 


WACUBO Time Zones and Scheduling Notice: All scheduled events are listed in HT, PT, and MT, in that order. If you need help finding your time zone, try the World Time Buddy
Try World Time Buddy

Navigate to a Daily Schedule

Monday  |  Tuesday   Wednesday


Monday
| May 24

5:00 AM – 11:30 AM HST
8:00 AM – 2:30 PM PDT
8:00 AM – 2:30 PM MST
9:00 AM – 3:30 PM MDT

Virtual Exhibit Hall Is Open

6:00 AM – 7:15 AM HST
9:00 AM – 9:15 AM PDT
9:00 AM – 9:15 AM MST
10:00 AM – 10:15 AM MDT
Opening Remarks & Entertainment
6:15 AM – 7:15 AM HST
9:15 AM –10:15 AM PDT
9:15 AM –10:15 AM MST
10:15 AM – 11:15 AM MDT

Keynote: A Conversation with Tara WestoverCPE Credits Eligible

Keynote Speaker: Tara Westover

7:15 AM – 6:00 AM HST
10:15 AM – 11:00 AM PDT
10:15 AM – 11:00 AM MST
11:15 AM – 12:00 PM MDT

 Break & Business Partners Office Hours

8:00 AM – 9:00 AM HST
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM PDT
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MST
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM MDT

Concurrent Sessions I

 

Tales From the Front: Beyond Customer Service – The Student Account's Solution Support Story

Speakers: Lori Serna, Justin Vastine, John Buerger

CPE Credits EligibleCS1: Cultivating Bold Collaboration in Uncertain Times: Leading Culture Change with Humility and Resolve

Speaker: Howard Teibel

 

CPE Credits EligibleCS2: Managing in the Zoom World

Speakers: Shawn Miller, Kaysi Parke

Business Partners Session: Findings from the TIAA White Paper, "The new normal: higher education in a post COVID-19 world"
Sponsored by TIAA 

Speakers: Dean Calvo, Anup Vidwans, Raymond Bellucci

 

Business Partners Session: New Opportunities to Enable the Global Educational Institution– People, Real Estate, and Tax
Sponsored by KPMG

Speakers: Curtis Saueressig, Felicia Lyon, Felicia Tucker, Ashley Mahoney

9:00 AM – 9:30 AM HST
12:00 PM – 12:30 PM PDT
12:00 PM – 12:30 PM MST

1:00 PM – 1:30 PM MDT

Networking Break

9:30 AM – 10:30 AM HST
12:30 PM – 1:30 PM PDT
12:30 PM – 1:30 PM MST

 1:30 PM – 2:30 PM MDT

Concurrent Sessions II

 

CPE Credits EligibleTales From the Front: Coaching for Individual and Institutional Success

Speakers: Jean Vock, Erin Collier

CPE Credits: 1.2CS3: Constituency Group Breakout Sessions

Breakout 1: Community College Constituency Group Breakout
Facilitator: Linda Cordier

Breakout 2: Comprehensive/Doctoral Institutions and Research Institutions Constituency Group Breakout
Facilitator: Monica Kane

Breakout 3: Small Institutions Constituency Group Breakout
Facilitator: Brad Baca

 

CPE Credits EligibleCS4: Philanthropy and the CFO

Speakers: Pam Shockley-Zalabak, Martin Wood

Business Partners Session: Survive & Thrive: Effective Deployment of Capital and Operating Funding
Sponsored by Moss Adams

Speakers: Stephen Bacchetti, Halie Garcia, Mark Steranka

 

Business Partners Session: ESG Investing in Retirement Plans: What Does the Future Hold for Plan Sponsors?
Sponsored by SageView

Speakers: Dean Calvo, Dan Quirk, Arch Asawa, Christian Hancey

10:30 AM – 11:00 AM HST
1:30 PM – 2:00 PM PDT
1:30 PM – 2:00 PM MST

2:30 PM – 3:00 PM MDT

Networking Break

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM HST
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM PDT
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM MST

3:00 PM – 4:00 PM MDT

Networking Roundtables

  • Business Partners Roundtable (TIAA) - Leading the Future of Work
  • Business Partners Roundtable (Transact) - What's Next in the World of Omnichannel Payment and Campus ID Solutions for Higher Education?
  • COVID-19 Roundtable Discussion
  • DEI Strategies and Challenges Roundtable Discussion
  • New to WACUBO Roundtable Discussion

Tuesday | May 25

5:00 AM – 12:30 PM HST
8:00 AM – 2:30 PM PDT
8:00 AM – 2:30 PM MST

9:00 AM – 3:30 PM MDT

Virtual Exhibit Hall Is Open

5:00 AM – 5:45 AM HST
8:00 AM – 8:45 AM PDT
8:00 AM – 8:45 AM MST

9:00 AM – 9:45 AM MDT

Networking Roundtables 

  • Business Partners Roundtable (First American) - Not Back to Normal, Back to Better: A Discussion with Howard Teibel
  • Business Partners Roundtable (Workday) - Agility in the Office of the CFO
  • CDRIC Roundtable Discussion
  • Community Colleges Roundtable Discussions
  • Small Institutions Roundtable Discussions
5:45 AM – 5:50 AM HST
8:45 AM – 8:50 AM PDT
8:45 AM – 8:50 AM MST
9:45 AM – 9:50 AM MDT
Break
5:50 AM – 6:00 AM HST
8:50 AM – 9:00 AM PDT
8:50 AM – 9:00 AM MST

9:50 AM – 10:00 AM MDT
Morning Entertainment
6:00 AM – 7:00 AM HST
9:00 AM – 10:00 AM PDT
9:00 AM – 10:00 AM MST

10:00 AM – 11:00 AM MDT

CPE Credits EligibleKeynote: A Conversation with "Unlikely" Filmmakers Adam and Jaye Fenderson

Keynote Speakers: Jaye and Adam Fenderson

7:00 AM – 7:45 AM HST
10:00 AM – 10:45 AM PDT
10:00 AM – 10:45 AM MST

11:00 AM – 11:45 AM MDT

Networking Break

 

7:45 AM – 8:45 AM HST
10:45 AM – 11:45 AM PDT
10:45 AM – 11:45 AM MST

11:45 AM – 12:45 PM MDT

Concurrent Sessions III

 

CPE Credits EligibleTales From the Front: The Winning Combination for More Effective Universities: Strategy, Data, and Action

Speakers: Cathy Anderson, Kelly Fox, Jamie Moffitt

CPE Credits EligibleCS5: Mobilizing Our Community: Generating New Practices that Drive Innovation

Speaker: Howard Teibel

 

Business Partners Session: Emerging Risks in Higher Education
Sponsored by Arthur J. Gallagher & Co. 

Speaker: Stacie Kroll

Business Partners Session: Staying in the Know: Washington update and COVID-19 Relief Funding for Higher Education
Sponsored by Moss Adams

Speaker: Liz Clark

 

CPE Credits EligibleCS6. Implicit and Unconscious Bias: Bridging the Distance Between Professed Values and Daily Behaviors

Speaker: Rosetta Lee

8:45 AM – 9:15 AM HST
11:45 AM – 12:15 PM PDT
11:45 AM – 12:15 PM MST

12:45 PM – 1:15 PM MDT

Break & Business Partner Office Hours

9:15 AM – 9:30 AM HST
12:15 PM – 12:30 PM PDT
12:15 PM – 12:30 PM MST

1:15 PM – 1:30 PM MDT

Afternoon Announcements and Entertainment

9:30 AM – 10:30 AM HST
12:30 PM – 1:30 PM PDT
12:30 PM – 1:30 PM MST

 1:30 PM – 2:30 PM MDT

CPE Credits EligibleGeneral Session: The Spirit of Ubuntu - The Keys to Change How You Live, Work, and Lead

Speaker: Shola Richards

10:30 AM – 11:00 AM HST
1:30 PM – 2:00 PM PDT
1:30 PM – 2:00 PM MST
2:30 PM – 3:00 PM MDT

Networking Break

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM HST
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM PDT
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM MST

3:00 PM – 4:00 PM MDT

Mindfulness Activity with Dr. Anne Weisman, UNLV

 

Wednesday | May 26

5:00 AM – 11:30 AM HST
8:00 AM – 2:30 PM PDT
8:00 AM – 2:30 PM MST

9:00 AM – 3:30 PM MDT

Virtual Exhibit Hall Is Open

5:00 AM – 5:45 AM HST
8:00 AM – 8:45 AM PDT
8:00 AM – 8:45 AM MST
9:00 AM – 9:45 AM MDT

Networking Roundtables 

  • Business Partner Roundtable Discussion (Sodexo) - The Evolution of the Traditional Meal Plan Model on a Post-Pandemic Campus
  • Business Partner Roundtable (SAP Concur) - Resuming Compliance and Accountability as Travel  and Purchasing Return to Campus
  • Emerging Professionals Roundtable Discussions
  • WACUBO Volunteer Roundtable Discussions
5:45 AM – 5:50 AM HST
 8:45 AM – 8:50 AM PDT
 8:45 AM – 8:50 AM MST

9:45 AM – 9:50 AM MDT
Break
5:50 AM – 6:00 AM HST
8:50 AM – 9:00 AM PDT
8:50 AM – 9:00 AM MST

9:50 AM – 10:00 AM MDT
Morning Entertainment and 2022 Booth Winner Announced
6:00 AM – 7:00 AM HST
9:00 AM –10:00 AM PDT

9:00 AM –10:00 AM MST
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM MDT

CPE Credits EligibleKeynote: Ordinary Person, Extraordinary Change: How to Affect the Masses
Keynote Speaker:
Adam Braun

7:00 AM – 7:45 AM HST
10:00 AM – 10:45 AM PDT
10:00 AM – 10:45 AM MST

11:00 AM – 11:45 AM MDT

Annual Member Business Meeting

7:45 AM – 8:00 AM HST
10:45 AM – 11:00 AM PDT
10:45 AM – 11:00 AM MST

11:45 AM – 12:00 PM MDT

Break

8:00 AM – 9:00 AM HST
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM PDT
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MST

12:00 PM – 1:00 PM MDT

Concurrent Sessions IV

 

CPE Credits EligibleTales From the Front: Cultivating Culture – Increasing Employee Engagement through Strategic Planning

Speakers: Sara Reed, Lauralea Edwards 

Business Partners Session: Financial Planning During the Pandemic
Sponsored by Synario

Speakers: Derek Freitag, Thomas Toepfer, Heather Hesano

 

CPE Credits EligibleCS8: Attracting and Supporting At-Risk Students: Understanding the Effects of Meeting Full Financial Need and Developing Appropriate Programs for Equity in STEM

Speaker: Clint Emmerich, Ed. D., Anthea Johnson Rooen

Business Partners Session: Strategic Planning & Reporting for Higher Education: Learn how to strategic planning helps you stay agile when faced with change
Sponsored by Workday

Speakers: Rick Ambre, Teresa Costantinidis, Kevin Molloy, Alanna Cajthami, Alan Jacobson

9:00 AM – 9:45 AM HST
12:00 PM – 12:45 PM PDT
12:00 PM – 12:45 PM MST

1:00 PM – 1:45 PM MDT

Break & Business Partner Office Hours

9:45 AM – 10:45 AM HST
12:45 PM – 1:45 PM PDT
12:45 PM – 1:45 PM MST

 1:45 PM – 2:45 PM MDT

Concurrent Sessions V

 

CPE Credits EligibleCS9: COVID-19 Panel Session

Speakers: Ruth Johnston, Jon Giacomi, Brad Wells, Lupe Valencia

CPE Credits EligibleCS10: Responsibility Center Management, Three Universities Perspectives

Speakers: Linda Kosten, Ph.D., Jeffrey Ratje, Sarah Mangum

 

CPE Credits EligibleC11: Data Analytics and Federal Grant Audits

Speakers: Richard Cordova, Andres Chan

Business Partners Session: Be The Change
Sponsored by TIAA

Speakers: Corie Pauling, Raymond Bellucci, Mary Ann Villarreal

10:45 AM – 11:15 AM HST
1:45 PM – 2:15 PM PDT
1:45 PM – 2:15 PM MST

2:45 PM – 3:15 PM MDT

Networking Break

11:15 AM – 12:15 PM HST
2:15 PM – 3:15 PM PDT
2:15 PM – 3:15 PM MST
3:15 PM – 4:15 PM MDT

Closing Remarks and Jeopardy

 

Return to Top